Zimbabwe India Cricket News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Cricket Memorabilia

Own a Virendra Sehwag autographed cricket bat

In March 2004, in the 1st Innings of the 1st Test versus Pakistan at Multan in Pakistan, Virender Sehwag became the first Indian batsman to score a triple century.

To celebrate the fantastic feat, this magnificent piece of cricketing memorabilia, limited edition of 309 World Wide, has been produced. Each bat has been personally signed by Virender Sehwag and is presented in a top quality timber box frame with acid free archival mat board, To protect your investment, each piece is authenticated by A-Tag Microchip Technology, and comes complete with a Certificate of Authenticity.
Buy now / Read more / Other cricket memorabilia

India Zimbabwe Cricket News 2005

Videocon triangular series Cricket 2005 full coverage

India lost in the Tri-series finals to New Zealand. Taking their finals loses since 2000 to 11 in 15 finals. 3 were no results and India won only one final!
By and large India have generally made heavy weather of chasing a target and their performance in finals hasn't been helped by having to chase 11 times in the 15 finals they have reached since 2000. In seven of those 11 instances India have had to chase over 260. But the batting woes are not limited to just chasing: of the four times that India have batted first in a final they have scored less than 225 twice.

India Zimbabwe Two Test Series 2005

Second Test: Paceman Pathan inspires India win

Irfan Pathan produced another quality performance as India completed a 10-wicket victory over Zimbabwe in the the second Test in Harare. Pathan took 5-67 for match figures of 12-126 as the home side were bowled out for 223, a lead of only 17 runs. Zimbabwe at least escaped an innings defeat thanks to Hamilton Masakadza (71) and Andy Blignaut (84 not out), who shared a stand of 116. India reached 21-0 to wrap up a 2-0 series win with two days to spare. Earlier Pathan and Zaheer Khan did the bulk of the bowling with spinners Harbhajan Singh and Anil Kumble given only a handful of overs by skipper Sourav Ganguly. Zaheer Khan took 4 for 58. Scores: India 366 & 21-0 beat Zimbabwe 161 & 223 by 10 wickets

First Test: India crush Zimbabwean resistance

India thrashed Zimbabwe by an innings and 90 runs in Bulawayo despite a brave lower-order resistance from the hosts on day four of the first Test. Resuming on 67-6 and still 208 runs shy of making India bat again, Zimbabwe managed 185 in their second innings with skipper Tatenda Taibu making 52. Harbhajan Singh finished off the tail to return figures of 4-59. India's left-arm paceman Irfan Pathan was named Man of the Match for his match haul of 9-111. The second and final Test gets under way in Harare on Tuesday. Scores: Zimbabwe 279 & 185 lost to India 554 by an innings and 90 runs.
India Cricket Live

Laxman, Kumble dropped from ODI squad for Zimbabwe

The selection panel, headed by Kiran More, which met in Mumbai on Saturday dropped "ageing non-performers in limited overs games", Anil Kumble and V V S Laxman. The selectors also omitted medium pacers Laxmipathi Balaji and Zaheer Khan for the event beginning on August 24. National coach Greg Chappell and captain Sourav Ganguly also attended the meeting.
But all four players, who were members of the ODI squad to Sri Lanka recently, were included in the team for the two-Test series to follow from September 13 against Zimbabwe along with Sachin Tendulkar , subject to his becoming fit by that time, wicketkeeper Dinesh Kaarthick and opener Gautam Gambhir. The players who would be returning after the tri-series are Suresh Raina, Venugopal Rao, M S Dhoni, Ajit Agarkar, Rudra Pratap Singh, J P Yadav and Murali Kartik. ODI squad: Sourav Ganguly (Captain), Rahul Dravid (vice-captain), Virender Sehwag , Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Suresh Raina, Venugopal Rao, M S Dhoni (w/k), Harbhajan Singh, Murali Kartik, Ashish Nehra, Irfan Pathan, Ajit Agarkar, R P Singh and J P Yadav. Test squad: Sourav Ganguly (Captain), Rahul Dravid (vice-captain), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar (subject to fitness), V V S Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Dinesh Kaarthick (w/k), Anil Kumble, L Balaji, Zaheer Khan, Irfan Pathan, Gautam Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh, Ashish Nehra. India Cricket Live

Sourav renamed Indian captain

The BCCI on Friday recalled Sourav Ganguly as India's cricket captain for the forthcoming Zimbabwe tour. Ganguly, 33, replaces Rahul Dravid who led the Indian team in the recent tri-series in Sri Lanka where India lost to Sri Lanka in the final. Ganguly had recently completed 10,000 runs in one-day internationals during the tri-series in Sri Lanka.
Ganguly, who took over as captain in 2000, has led India to a record 19 wins in 47 Tests. He lost 13 matches while 15 were drawn. In 142 one-dayers as captain, Ganguly has posted 73 victories, lost 64 while five ended in no-results. The Zimbabwe tour will comprise a limited-overs tri-series that features New Zealand as the third team. India will also play two test matches against Zimbabwe.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.